A day in Notting Hill

I know…I know…it is the most cliché thing to do. What can I say? I am still smitten by William Thacker, the floppy-haired, crinkly-eyed owner of a travel bookshop in Notting Hill, who accidentally spills orange juice all over Anna Scott, the most fabulous movie star in the world.

So my first visit after coming to London had to be the famous Notting Hill where Hugh Grant romances Julia Roberts. Of course this was not the only reason. I wanted to see the sedate, upwardly mobile professional Notting Hill of pricey iconic pastel-coloured houses with boho terraces and private gardens, the pictures of which have been instagrammed to death. I reckon a few more won’t hurt.

The pretty facades of Simon Close.

If you are looking for off the beaten track, instagrammable spots, then wander into Simon close. Thanks to blogger Julie Falconer’s ‘A lady in London‘, I got to see some lovely facades.

Pencombe Mews

Notting Hill is also famous for its mews. Mews are stables and carriage houses with living quarters above them, built behind large city houses. They became useless when cars replaced horses in the early twentieth century. Today they are prime real estates. Since they are located in posh residential areas they are sought after by yuppie house hunters.

Fashion designer Alice Temperley’s bridal workshop and boutique in Colville Mews, Notting Hill, a favourite with the likes of Duchess of Cambridge, her sister Pippa, Kelly Clarkson etc is up for sale.

As we walk, the seasons magically change, first it is summer fruits and flowers, then as we stroll down, rain starts to fall, Hugh turns up his coat collar…umbrellas appear…followed by winter coats…Christmas trees on sale and the first hint of snow. Then we come to Blenheim Crescent, which is a startling snowscape, right across Ladbroke Grove. By the time we reach the purple cafe, the snow is melting and he takes off his jacket and slings it over his shoulder to greet the sunshine of the spring and summer…end of song. (For those unfortunate souls who haven’t watched the movie…my apologies if you don’t get it.) Well, anything is possible in your head…

Portobello market has always been a tourist hotspot, but it gained an iconic status after the release of the movie ‘Notting Hill’. Walking amidst the T shirt stalls, stalls selling tomatoes and ripe peaches (5 for a pound), potatoes, broccoli, spinach, plantains and yams, small shops selling potted plants and the Rastafarian record stores blasting out reggae and rap, I saw Hugh Grant strolling alongside me through the market. In the background Bill withers starts singing… ‘Ain’t no sunshine when she’s gone…It’s not warm when she’s away…’

And lo and behold…there it was… the famous ‘Travel book shop’. I almost missed it because it was hidden behind stalls selling souvenirs, street signs, fridge magnets and what not. My heart was beating fast as I entered into the shop…half expecting to see floppy haired Hugh Grant walk out from behind a row of book shelves. My heart broke into a thousand pieces as I stepped into the shop…there was no book shop…it had metamorphosed into a gift shop selling everything from £1 key chains to ‘I love London’ t-shirts. The shop sign was just a sham. I felt thoroughly and utterly cheated.

As I walked on Westbourne Park Road I finally stood in front of the famous blue door of house no 280, between ‘Posh nails’ and ‘Starbucks’. I hoped to see some crowd in front, where Rhys Ifans’ Spike posed in his grey underwear for thousands of paparazzi. But except for a few Chinese tourists and giggly middle aged ladies, there was no one. Lesson of the day… do not mix up reel and real life.

Even though I did not run into Hugh Grant on Portobello market on that particular day, I couldn’t help but become a little intoxicated by the smell of fresh coffee, bacon and croissant wafting from the quaint al fresco cafes, roadside stalls selling antiques…’some genuine…… and some not so genuine,’ and the sheer beauty of the heterogeneity of people. 

Notting Hill, for me will always be synonymous with romance. It is about reaching for the stars and cherishing them forever…’surreal but nice.’

Visited on 18.05.2018

Want to know more? Check out these blogs:

Leave a comment